7th Annual UTSW Stroke Symposium: Critical Decisions in Stroke (RP1711C)

Dallas, TX US
November 11, 2017

Our theme for this year's 7th Annual Stroke Symposium is "Critical Decisions in Stroke." The target audience will be apprised of the latest in acute stroke practice with emphasis on critical care aspects of comprehensive care. Attendees will be updated on the present evidence for carotid disease management, interventional management of aneurysmal and ischemic stroke, and care in a neurointensive unit. Physicians and advance practice providers will also gain knowledge on hypercoagulable states in stroke and advanced care of the hemorrhagic stroke patient. The American Heart Association will also be providing an update on current initiatives pertinent to organizational approaches to stroke care. 

Click here to view the full brochure


Target Audience

Physicians, Physician Assistants, Advance Practice Nurses, Registered Nurses, Pharmacists, Therapists, Rehabilitation Experts

Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this activity, participants should be able to:

  • Evaluate their practice of patients with critical care needs
  • Evaluate if their practice includes newer evidence of hemorrhagic stroke care and carotid disease management
  • Apply new knowledge of evidence based practice of anesthesia type selected in endovascular rescue
  • Discuss the use of new devices for acute interventional stroke management
  • Review future goals of the American Heart Association's stroke program. 
    Course summary
    Available credit: 
    • 6.50 AMA
    • 6.50 Attendance
    Course opens: 
    Course expires: 
    Event starts: 
    11/11/2017 - 7:00am CST
    Event ends: 
    11/11/2017 - 3:30pm CST
    UT Southwestern Medical Center, Building "D" Lower Level
    5323 Harry Hines Blvd.
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Dallas, TX 75390
    United States


    for directions CLICK HERE


    Parking is available in the Visitor Parking Lot 7. From Harry Hines Blvd, turn West onto Senator Kay Bailey Hutchinson Drive. Turn right after the Info Booth. Walk across the Donald Seldin Plaza, down the stairs next to the Visitor Information Center, and into the D Building

    Course Director:

    Venkatesh Aiyagari, M.D.
    Department of Neurology & Neurotherapeutics
    Neurocritical Care Division
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Dallas, TX

    Co-Course Director:

    Amanda Dirickson MS, ANP-C, APRN, SCRN
    Senior Clinical Provider
    Department of Neurology & Neurotherapeutics
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Dallas, Texas



      Accreditation and Designation Statements

      The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

      The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center designates this educational activity for a maximum of 6.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. 


      UT Southwestern University Hospitals is an approved provider of continuing nursing education by the Texas Nurses Association – Approver, an accredited approver with distinction by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

      This activity provides 6.33 contact hours.

      Physical Therapy: 

      This activity has been approved by the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners for 6.50 CCUs for PTs and PTAs.


        Available Credit

        • 6.50 AMA
        • 6.50 Attendance


        Please login or create an account to take this course.


        To register:

        1. Create an account in EthosCE, online learning management system, by selecting the "create an account" link or "log-in" to your existing account.
        2. Return to this course page, select the designated fee and click on "add to cart."
        3. In the following "checkout" pages you will verify and process your payment.
        4. After registration is completed, a confirmation will be sent by email.